Without an end goal in mind, where are you left?

Let us tackle some questions here…

  1. If you don’t know what you’re aiming for in life, where do you think you’ll end up?
  2. If you don’t set something in place for the future, where will your future lie?
  3. If we push our abilities from where we are now into a place of growth, potential and resilience, would we be better off than staying in the same place when we challenge ourselves to grow?

Answer to: Question number 1 – Without an end goal in mind, where does it leave you? Perhaps confused, bewildered, and in a low self-conscious mind to be able to do anything about it. So what needs to happen from here? We need to have a higher level of self-consciousness so we can tackle and challenge our thoughts to push ourselves into a productive state. This pushes us to excel into a better place when we have the ability to examine what we need to work on, and then work on those steps individually from this point forward.

Example; Let’s say you want to be better with money this year. You need to examine that you’re not very good with money right now. The question here to yourself would be “what can i do to be better with money?” This challenges you to think. It makes you come up with possibilities to what needs to happen. You then figure out that you need to learn financial education. You could do this by seeing what books are out there that would help you learn. Perhaps an online course or too. Maybe even some YouTube videos! This then would create further questions to where you seek the answers. For my money journey a few years ago, it sparked the thought of “I need to save more, but I also need to put my money to work. Saving won’t get me to a better place in the future, however it would create a pot of money so I don’t leave myself in trouble over the next six months if the car goes wrong at the same time as the washing machine needing to be replaced.” So then I think “how can I make my money work for me? Do I need to learn about investing?” So that’s what I did!

Answer to: Question 2 – If I didn’t go on the venture of my goal around money, I couldn’t get to where I needed to be in the future. This is where I began to learn about investing, (while saving too) and this then sets up a thought of my future self. When I think about future me, I need to be vigilant of what steps I do today that will get me to a better place in the future. So this requires a plan.

I sit down now to see where all my money goes. From my paycheck I can see this: 60% on bills, 20% savings and 20% to go into investing. Now I know that a portion of my paycheck is accounted for, I need to see where I can grow this more rapid.

Answer to: Question 3 – Growing from where I was to now seeing where I am today.

I know it’s an important part of growing, but when I got to a point where my paycheck wasn’t stretching as far due to the cost of living rising ridiculously high, I then needed to alter things but without going off track. This leads to more thinking, being creative and planning strategically. This made me grow. I grew into the person I needed most. In a tough time, you need to make sacrifices. To see the potential in yourself even when you’re in a place of vulnerability, you can become more resilient when you challenge yourself to find a way. No matter what it is, find a way. You will reap the rewards when you put it into the universe that you are willing to do anything that will get you to a better place in the long run, whether that means giving up a fancy car, buying less meals out, or not having multiple subscriptions. Find a way. It was a tough year, but I got through it. And so can you!

This was an example of a challenge but you can replace my example with your goal to help you through this. It was super interesting to see others when they see you do this too. People will NEVER uderstand your situation because they are NOT you! You need to be willing to accept that it will look weird from the outside looking in. It doesn’t matter of judgement from others in the short term when you know you’re doing something for future gain. You have to be brave enough to see where you’re heading and to be able to visualise the future which then helps you commit to a better self and makes all the hard work worth it in the end.

Plan ahead, be ready for the challenge and grow from it by levelling up. You deserve everything, but at the same time, you are entitled to nothing if you’re not willing to do what is right.

Good luck on your journey ahead and I hope this helps.

D x

Leave a comment